The main purpose of this Safety Awareness course is to contribute to accident prevention at CERN.

The Safety Awareness course is designed to make all people who may work on the various CERN
sites, regardless of their status (staff, associates, users, fellows, students, apprentices, contract
workers, temporary labour, etc.) aware of the fact that they are responsible for their own safety and
that they have a major role to play in the prevention of risks.  The aim is also to inform them of the risks
that they may be exposed to, the rules that must be followed, the services and people to know and
the behaviour to adopt in the case of an accident.


The Safety Awareness course is divided into 4 levels, with each level comprising one or more modules
validated by a short test on completion.

  • Level 1: Safety at CERN + test

This level will give you the basics necessary to understand how Safety is organisated at CERN,
a knowledge of the fundamental aspects of work place safety and information on key positions of
responsibility and the important services to be aware of.

  • Level 2: General risks + test

This level presents the main risks to which people working at CERN may be exposed, useful methods
and ways of limiting exposure to risks, the rules and the behaviour to adopt in an emergency: accident,
fire, pollution, …

  • Level 3: Specific risks at CERN + test

This level presents the specific risks at CERN (cryogenics, ionising radiation, working at height, etc.)
using real cases of accidents that have occurred at CERN.

  • Level  4: Underground risks + test

Different level 4 courses are available corresponding to the area concerned:

  • LHC Machine (level 4);
  • ATLAS (level 4A);
  • LHCb (level 4b);
  • CMS (level 4C).

The number of levels you need to follow depends on your professional category, your future activity
on the CERN sites and on the type of access you will request.

Administration (office work, etc.): Basic Safety (levels 1 and 2).

‘On site’ Activity (manual work, intervention in hazardous areas, etc.): Basic Safety (levels 1 and 2)
+ Specific risks (level 3).

Underground Activity: Basic Safety (levels 1 and 2) + Specific risks (level 3) + Underground risks
(level 4 specific to the area concerned).


  • If you have a CERN account: you can access the Safety Awareness course on-line at the web
    page, from your computer, inside or outside CERN.

  • If you do not have a CERN account and don't foresee getting one, there are some computers
    available for use without the need to log in at the kiosk on the ground floor of building 55,
    room R-002.
Your CERN badge will be needed in order to prove your identity.

Time limit

Levels 1, 2 and 3: you have 7 days starting from your arrival at CERN to follow the Safety Awareness
course and pass the tests.

Level 4: you have to pass the appropriate level 4 courses following your access requests.


The 4 levels can be followed in English or in French.  If you have difficulties, contact your supervisor.


The tests allow us to check and validate you have correctly understood the information. You must pass
the tests in order to gain access to CERN. Pay attention!

For levels 1, 2 and 3, you will have 3 attempts to pass each test.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

1. What levels must I follow in order to work at CERN?

Depending on your future activity and the type of access you will request, you must pass between 2
and 7 levels on See "Organisation" above.

2. What should I do if I find it difficult to understand French or English?

You should contact your supervisor.

3. How long are the Safety Awareness courses valid for?

The validity of the tests is 3 years (except for level 4b which is 1 year).  At the end of the 3 years you
will be obliged to follow the course and pass the tests again.  You will receive an email informing you
that the validity of the courses has expired.

4. What do the tests consist of at the end of each level?

The tests consist of about 10 multiple choice questions on the content of the course you have just
followed. In order to pass the test you will need to answer all the questions correctly.

5. What happens if I pass the test?

The database registers that you have passed the test of the corresponding level. When the tests of
all the necessary levels have been passed, your courses will be registered in the database.

6. What happens if I fail the test?

You have 3 attempts to pass each of the tests.  If you fail 3 times, you will receive an email telling you
how to proceed. In any case, you should contact your supervisor.

7. What level must I follow in order to work in the LHC tunnel?

In addition to levels 1, 2 and 3, you must follow and pass the test for ‘level 4’.

8. What level must I follow in order to work in a large experiment (ATLAS, CMS, LHCb)?

In addition to levels 1, 2 and 3, you must follow and pass the test for the level 4 course corresponding
to the relevant experiment:
  • level 4A: for ATLAS,
  • level 4b: for LHCb,
  • level 4C: for CMS.

9. Who should I contact if I have other questions?

Send an email to

Updated: 27.03.2009

Copyright CERN - European Organization for Nuclear Research